Emerald Downs Announces 2020 Stakes Schedule

The $200,000 Longacres Mile (G3) will be run Sunday, August 9

EMERALD DOWNS ANNOUNCES
2020 STAKES SCHEDULE

AUBURN, Wash. (January 31, 2020) – Emerald Downs Racetrack & Casino has announced 28 stakes events worth an aggregate $1,515,000 in purses for its 2020 live racing season that begins Saturday, April 18.

The 85th renewal of the $200,000 Longacres Mile (G3) on Sunday, August 9 — earliest date ever for the Northwest’s premier race — anchors the second annual Championship Sunday featuring stakes races in four divisions. In addition to The Mile, Championship Sunday includes the $50,000 Emerald Distaff, $50,000 Muckleshoot Derby, and $50,000 Washington Oaks.

A second stakes quadruple-header is offered Sunday, July 12, featuring the $50,000 Mt. Rainier Stakes for older horses, $50,000 Boeing Stakes for older fillies and mares, $50,000 King County Express for 2-year-old colts and geldings, and $50,000 Angie C Stakes for 2-year-old fillies.

The Mt. Rainier at 1 1/16 miles is the final local tune-up for the Longacres Mile.

As usual, stakes action heats up in the latter half of the 63-day meeting, with 20 stakes scheduled during July, August and September.

The 2020 schedule offers 10 stakes for older horses (five apiece for males and females), 10 for 3-year-olds (five apiece for males and females) and seven for 2-year-olds.

In 2019, stakes races averaged a healthy 8.5 runners with a $10.60 average $2 win payoff.

The xpressbet.com Washington Cup will feature six stakes races over three weekends — August 30, September 6, and September 13 — and offer $300,000 in aggregate purses for Washington breds.

The $80,000 Gottstein Futurity at 1 1/16 miles is the biggest race of the season for 2-year-olds on Sunday, September 20, while the 10th renewal of the $40,000 Bank of America Emerald Championship Challenge is offered for Quarter Horses on Sunday, August 23.

Indian Relay also returns in 2020. The fifth annual Muckleshoot Gold Cup — featuring Indian Tribes from throughout the western United States and Canada — is scheduled Friday, June 19, Saturday, June 20, and Sunday, June 21.

Training for the 2020 Emerald Downs’ season begins Monday, February 3.

2020 Emerald Downs Stakes Schedule

28 Stakes: $1,505,000

Date. . . .Stakes. . . .Purse
Sunday, May 10: Seattle Stakes (3YO F) • 6 F • $35,000
Sunday, May 17: Auburn Stakes (3YO C&G) • 6 F • $35,000
Sunday, May 24: Hastings Stakes (3&UP F&M) • 6 F • $35,000
Sunday, May 31: Governor’s Stakes (3&UP) • 6 F • $35,000

Sunday, June 7: Kent Stakes (3YO F) • 6½ F • $50,000
Sunday, June 14: Irish Day Stakes (3YO C&G) • 6½ F • $50,000
Sunday, June 21: WA State Legislators Stakes (3&UP F&M) 6½ F • $50,000
Sunday, June 21: Budweiser Stakes (3&UP) • 6½ F • $50,000

Sunday, July 5: Coca-Cola Stakes (3YO F) • 1 1/16 M • $50,000
Sunday, July 5: Seattle Slew Stakes (3YO C&G) • 1 1/16 M • $50,000
Sunday, July 12: Mt. Rainier Stakes (3&UP) • 1 1/16 M • $50,000
Sunday, July 12: Boeing Stakes (3&UP F&M) • 1 1/16 M • $50,000
Sunday, July 12: Angie C Stakes (2YO F) • 5½ F • $50,000
Sunday, July 12: King County Express (2YO C&G) • 5½ F • $50,000

Sunday, Aug. 9: Washington Oaks (3YOF) • 1 1/8 M • $50,000
Sunday, Aug. 9: Muckleshoot Derby (3YO) • 1 1/8 M • $50,000
Sunday, Aug. 9: Emerald Distaff (3&UP F&M) • 1 1/8 M • $50,000
Sunday, Aug. 9: Longacres Mile (G3) (3&UP) • 1 M • $200,000

Sunday, Aug. 16: Barbara Shinpoch Stakes (2YO F) • 6 F • $50,000
Sunday, Aug. 16: WTBOA Lads Stakes (2YO C&G) • 6 F • $50,000
Sunday, Aug. 23: Bank of America Challenge (3&UP) • 440 Y • $40,000
Sunday, Aug. 30: WA Cup Sophomore Filly • 1 M • $50,000
Sunday, Aug. 30: WA Cup Sophomore Colt & Gelding • 1 M • $50,000

Sunday, Sept. 6: WA Cup Juvenile Filly • 6½ F • $50,000
Sunday, Sept. 6: WA Cup Juvenile Colt & Gelding • 6½ F • $50,000
Sunday, Sept.13: WA Cup Filly & Mare • 1 1/16 M • $50,000
Sunday, Sept. 13: Muckleshoot Tribal Classic (3&UP) • 1 1/16 M • $50,000
Sunday, Sept 20: Gottstein Futurity (2YO) • 1 1/16 M •  $80,000

EMERALD DOWNS ANNOUNCES 2020 PROMOTION SCHEDULE

Our Silver Season kicks off on Saturday, April 18 with Prize Drawings between the races. Lots of fun stuff happening throughout our 25th season of Thoroughbred racing!

2020 Calendar

Saturday, April 18 – Opening Day • Silver Season Prize Drawings

Saturday, April 25 – 25th Season Giveaway Item Weekend

Saturday, May 2 – Kentucky Derby Day

Sunday, May 3 – Cinco de Mayo Celebration

Friday, May 8 – T-Shirt Giveaway

Saturday, May 9 – Mother’s Day Saturday Buffet • Family Fun Day

Sunday, May 10 – Mother’s Day Buffet

Friday, May 15 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, May 16 – Preakness Stakes • Handicapping Tournament

Sunday, May 17 – Exotic Racing

Friday, May 22 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, May 23 – Armed Forces Day

Sunday, May 24 – Great Outdoors Prize Drawings

Friday, May 29 – Friday Night Racing • Teacher Appreciation Weekend

Saturday, May 30 – Teacher Appreciation Weekend

Sunday, May 31 – Bulldog Races • Teacher Appreciation Weekend

Friday, June 5 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, June 6 – Belmont Stakes • Beer Fest

Sunday, June 7 – Beer Fest

Friday, June 12 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, June 13 – Dollar Night

Sunday, June 14 – Irish Day

Friday, June 19 – Indian Relay

Saturday, June 20 – Indian Relay

Sunday, June 21 – Father’s Day • Indian Relay Championship

Friday, June 26 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, June 27 – Ladies Night

Sunday, June 28 – Wiener Dogs & Wannabe Races

Friday, July 3 – Fireworks Spectacular

Saturday, July 4 – 4th of July Racing • $1 Beer Night

Sunday, July 5 – Family Fun Day •  2nd Annual Diaper Derby

Friday, July 10 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, July 11 – Luckiest Night of the Year

Sunday, July 12 – T-Rex Day

Friday, July 17 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, July 18 – Dollar Night

Sunday, July 19 – Premio Esmeralda

Friday, July 24 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, July 25 – Pride Night

Sunday, July 26 – Family Fun Day • Kids Race

Friday, July 31 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, August 1 – Country Night

Sunday, August 2 – Corgi Races

Sunday, Friday, August 7 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, August 8 – Run the “Mile” • WA Racing Hall of Fame Inductions

Sunday, August 9 – Championship Sunday • The 84th Running of the Grade III $200,000 Longacres Mile

Friday, August 14 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, August 15 – Dollar Night

August 16 – Family Fun Day • Kids Race

Friday, August 21 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, August 22 – Food Truck Festival

Sunday, August 23 – Food Truck Festival

Friday, August 28 – Friday Night Racing

Saturday, August 29 – Renaissance Night

Friday, August 30 – End of Summer Party in the Park

Saturday, September 5 – September Saturdays

Sunday, September 6 – Italian Day

Monday, September 7 – Labor Day • Chihuahua Races

Saturday, September 12 – September Saturdays

September 13 – Back to School Drawings

September 13 – September Saturdays • Jersey Night

September 20 – Closing Day • Fan Appreciation Day