Emerald Downs News & Notes-Thursday, August 15

For You Only winning the Angie C Stakes


The Longacres Mile is in the books, but there are nine more stakes remaining in 2019.

Five of the stakes are for 2-year-olds, including Sunday’s double-header featuring the $50,000 WTBOA Lads Stakes for colts & geldings and $50,000 Barbara Shinpoch Stakes for fillies.

The WTBOA Lads, which drew a field of 10, and the Barbara Shinpoch, which drew eight, are both run at six furlongs.

The championship event for 2-year-olds, the $100,000 Gottstein Futurity at 1 1/16 miles, is closing day, Sunday September 22. Washington-breds, however, also have the $50,000 Washington Cup Juvenile and $50,000 Washington Cup Juvenile Filly, both at 6 1/2 furlongs, on Sunday, September 8.

The field for the $50,000 WTBOA Lads Stakes (Race 8, 5:39 p.m.): 1-Muncey, Javier Matias, 114 lbs; 2-Wilson to Lockett, Julien Couton, 114; 3-Harbors Rule, Scott Stevens, 114; 4-Haveulostyourmind, Jose Zunino, 114; 5-Wicked Winnings, Gary Wales, 114; 6-Brett, Eddie Martinez, 114; 7-Forty Smooches, Kevin Orozco, 114; 8-Turntheclocktozero, Kevin Krigger, 116; 9-Dropyourbuffs, Juan Gutierrez, 114; 10-Reddy to Star, Jorge Carreno, 116.

The field for the $50,000 Barbara Shinpoch Stakes (Race 6, 4:38 p.m.): 1-Cakewalk, Javier Matias, 113 lbs; 2-Tap That Spot, Scott Stevens, 113; 3-You Go Girl, Kevin Krigger, 113; 4-Jaded Tiger, Gary Wales, 113; 5-Windy Point, Juan Gutierrez, 115; 6-For You Only, Jennifer Whitaker, 119; 7-My Fol, Kevin Orozco, 115; 8-Munny, Jorge Carreno, 113.

Mike Man’s Gold


In Saturday’s featured seventh race, Mike Man’s Gold takes his second crack at becoming the track’s all-time wins leader.

Currently tied with West Seattle Boy at 21 wins apiece, Mike Man’s Gold is among nine horses entered in the $18,500 allowance/optional claimer for 3-year-olds and up at one mile, with Mike Man’s Gold the 5 to 2 morning line favorite.

Mike Man’s Gold takes a 21 for 50 Emerald Downs record into Saturday’s feature, including a 5 for 12 record at one mile. A 9-year-old Liberty Gold gelding, Mike Man’s Gold has been claimed in all four outings this season including three straight for $25,000. His current owners, Greg Conley, Chuck Conley and Joe Toye, have owned Mike Man’s Gold for his last nine wins.

Saturday’s race, which also features stakes winners The Press, Hit the Beach, and Grinder Sparksaglo springboards nicely to the $50,000 Muckleshoot Tribal Classic on Sunday, September 15.

21-Mike Man’s Gold*
21-West Seattle Boy
17-Buddy Dave
17-Olympic Lights
16-Bob Stories
16-Market Master
15-Chaching Pete
15-Fleet Pacific
15-Polish Dollar
15-Seattle Game
15-Wine At Nine*

Into the clubhouse turn in the 84th Longacres Mile (G3)


Buoyed by an 11-horse field in the Longacres Mile, average field size is a robust 8.4 horses per stakes race this season at Emerald Downs. And including the four stakes on Championship Sunday, the last seven stakes have all produced $2 win payoffs of $10 or higher, including Law Abiding Citizen’s $15.60 in the Longacres Mile (G3).

Although he ran gallantly as the odds-on choice, Anyportinastorm became the 18th betting favorite to lose in 24 Miles at Emerald Downs. And odds-on favorites are now 0 for 3: Hesabull, second at 3 to 10 in 1997; Classic Cat, eighth at 4 to 5 in 1999; and Anyportinastorm; second at 7 to 10 in 2019.

2019 Stakes @ Emerald Downs
Stakes: 18 Total Horses: 151 Average Field Size: 8.4
Average $2 Win: $11.80
Favorite: 7 for 18
2nd Favorite: 2 for 18
Largest $2 Win: $32.60, Twirling Devon (Irish Day Stakes)
Smallest $2 Win: $2.40, Anyportinastorm (Governor’s Stakes)
Winner Bred: Washington 9, Kentucky 4, Florida 3, California 2
Winning Sire: Smiling Tiger 3, City Zip 2, Flatter 2, Twirling Candy 2, Abraaj 1, Coast Guard 1, Demon Warlock 1, Eskendereya 1, Grazen 1, Majesticperfection 1, Mucho Macho Man 1, Slew’s Tiznow 1, Super Saver 1,
Trainer Wins: Blaine Wright 7, Frank Lucarelli 2, Chris Stenslie 2, Roddina Barrett 1, Howard Belvoir 1, Mark Glatt 1, Dan Markle 1, Manny Ortiz 1, Faith Taylor 1, Tom Wenzel 1
Jockey Wins: Kevin Orozco 4, Franklin Ceballos 3, Juan Hernandez 3, Scott Stevens 2, Jorge Carreno 1, Abel Cedillo 1, Lorenzo Lopez 1, Javier Matias 1, Gary Wales 1, Jennifer Whitaker 1

Rocco Bobbleheads!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *